All posts

Intercom Fin Alternatives for Small Support Teams: Seven, Priced From Their Own Pages

September 18, 2026 · 11 min read · by the hiy team

The short answer

Disclosure first, as always: we make hiy, which is one of the seven products below — so read everything here knowing that. People go looking for an Intercom Fin alternative for three reasons that have little to do with how good Fin is: it bills per outcome, and its definition of an outcome includes the customer who got a wrong answer and left; standalone Fin carries a minimum monthly commitment, and Fin inside Intercom needs a seat plan; and Intercom is a whole support suite, which is more than a two-founder product with a docs site needs. The seven alternatives are Help Scout AI Answers, eesel AI, Tidio's Lyro, Freshdesk's Freddy AI Agent, Chatbase, Crisp, and hiy. Every price here was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 18 September 2026, and where a page did not state something we say so rather than fill it in.

What Fin costs, and what an outcome is

Read from fin.ai/pricing today: $0.99 per Fin outcome, on every Intercom plan and on Fin bought standalone for another helpdesk. Resolutions, Procedure handoffs and disqualifications are $0.99 each; qualifications — Fin deciding a lead is worth a person — are $9.99 each. You are billed once per conversation however many questions it contained. Standalone Fin has no seat cost, but "minimum commitments apply" (the page's example is 50 outcomes a month). Intercom's seat plans start at $29 per seat per month on the annual-billed view, and every plan includes Fin.

The definition is the part to read twice. Fin counts an outcome when the customer confirms the issue is resolved, or when they don't ask for more help after Fin responds, or when Fin completes a Procedure, including a handoff. The middle clause is a deflection count: the conversation where the customer got a plausible wrong answer and gave up bills the same $0.99 as the one where they got the right one. Deflection rate vs resolution rate is the longer version of why those are different numbers, and that the price should follow the second.

What Fin does well is not in dispute. It sits inside an inbox a whole team works from, its Procedures can act rather than only answer, and it has years of scale behind it. If you run a support organisation, Fin is priced and built for you, and most of what follows is not.

Why small teams go looking

Three things, in the order they usually come up.

The unit. Per-outcome pricing gets more expensive precisely as the agent gets better, and the vendor decides what counts. A team doing three hundred conversations a month can see a $200–300 bill for the agent alone before any seats.

The floor. A minimum commitment and a seat plan are small money to a support department and real money to two founders who are the support department. The question a small team is asking is not "which agent is best" but "which agent can I switch on for the price of a tool, not a team".

The suite. If your customers are already on a page you control — your docs, your product — you need an agent that answers there, not a second inbox to live in. Several of the alternatives below are helpdesks too; two of them are not, and that is the distinction that matters more than any price.

The seven, priced from their own pages

Help Scout AI Answers — $0.75 per resolution

Help Scout is a helpdesk with an AI layer, and its AI Answers is priced the Fin way but cheaper: $0.75 per resolution, where a resolution is "a single AI chat session that is resolved without human assistance", charged once per session. A session where the customer asks for more help is not billed, which is a tighter definition than Fin's. It sits on Help Scout's seat plans (Standard is $25 per user per month, billed monthly; there is a free plan for up to five users), and new customers get three months of unlimited resolutions. The page says nothing about showing the customer the source behind an answer. Suits a team that wants a proper shared inbox and already likes Help Scout's.

eesel AI — $0.40 per task, no seats

eesel is the closest thing on this list to pure per-outcome pricing with no floor underneath it: $0.40 per regular task, where a task is one ticket or one chat session however many messages it takes; simple lookups are free, heavy tasks like drafting a blog post are $4. No platform fee, no per-seat fee, no monthly minimum, $50 of free usage to start, and a default monthly cap of $250 you can raise. Its homepage says answers "can cite the connected source material" and that it hands work to people when needed. Suits a team that wants usage pricing without the commitment and already has a helpdesk or chat surface for it to plug into.

Tidio's Lyro — $0.50 per conversation

Tidio is a live-chat and helpdesk product; Lyro is its AI agent. The Lyro page says "Pay just $0.5 per conversation", and the pricing page separately lists standalone Lyro from $32.50 a month for 50 conversations — the page does not spell out how the two relate, so treat the per-conversation figure as the unit and the $32.50 as the floor. Every account starts with 50 free Lyro conversations; Tidio's own plans start at $24.17 a month billed annually — the page's default view. Lyro forwards to a human when the answer is not in its knowledge base and alerts the team. Nothing on the page about citations. Suits a shop or small SaaS that wants live chat and an agent in one widget.

Freshdesk's Freddy AI Agent — 500 sessions free, then $49 per 100

Freshdesk bundles its AI agent into every seat plan with the first 500 sessions a month included, then $49 per 100 additional sessions — about 49 cents each. A session is one interaction between an end user and the agent inside a 72-hour window. Seats start at $19 per agent per month billed annually. That free allowance makes Freshdesk the cheapest per-unit option on this list for a small team, on the condition that you want Freshdesk: it is a full helpdesk and the agent does not come without it. The pages read say a human "steps in with full context" and nothing about showing sources.

Chatbase — message credits, from $40

Chatbase is not a helpdesk; it is an agent you train on your content and embed. Pricing is by message credit: a free plan with 50 credits a month (and agents deleted after 14 days of inactivity), Hobby at $40 a month for 700 credits, up to Pro at $500 for 15,000, with yearly plans 20% off. The pricing page does not say how many credits one conversation consumes, so the number you need to compare it with the per-resolution vendors is one you have to measure. Its Standard tier and up add a helpdesk "for AI and humans working from the same conversation". We could not read its docs on whether the customer sees a source. Suits a team that wants a widget on its own site and is happy to meter credits.

Crisp — credits inside a flat plan, from $45

Crisp is a chat and helpdesk suite that has made not charging per resolution a selling point — its AI page says outright that you "will not have to pay $1 per resolved conversation". Instead each plan carries AI credits: Free at $0 with none, Mini at $45 a month with about 90 automated conversations, Essentials at $95 with about 450, Plus at $295 with about 1,350. Those per-conversation figures are the page's bundle numbers divided out, not a unit price Crisp states. The AI page says "if the AI can't find the answer, it'll say it", which is the right instinct, without describing a handoff in detail. Suits a team that wants the suite and a predictable bill.

hiy — flat $49, answers on your own page

hiy is ours, so the standard for this paragraph is the same as the six above: what the page says. hiy sells a Support Agent, not a helpdesk. It answers customers from the docs you give it, shows the passage behind every grounded answer, says "I don't have that" when the material runs out, and hands the stuck customer to your inbox with the conversation attached. The paid plan is Founding Creator at $49 a month for 2,000 visitor messages, pooled across every agent on the account; creating a Support Agent starts a 14-day trial with no card. There is no per-outcome rate and no overage — the cap is a ceiling, and a busy month can hit it. The widget has no public URL: it opens on a token your server mints, so it cannot be scraped or embedded elsewhere. The pricing page has the rest. Suits a product team with docs, no support desk, and a few hundred conversations a month.

Side by side

ProductModelEntryThe AI unitFree to startSource shown to the customer
Intercom FinPer outcome$29/seat (annual view), or standalone with a minimum$0.99 per outcome; qualifications $9.9914-day trialNot stated
Help Scout AI AnswersPer resolution$25/user/mo; free plan to 5 users$0.75 per resolution3 months unlimitedNot stated
eesel AIPer taskNone — no seats, no platform fee$0.40 per ticket or chat session$50 usage"Can cite the connected source material"
Tidio LyroPer conversation$24.17/mo annual (Tidio), or Lyro from $32.50$0.50 per conversation50 conversationsNot stated
Freshdesk FreddySessions on a seat plan$19/agent/mo, annual500 free, then $49 per 10014-day trialNot stated
ChatbaseMessage creditsFree, 50 credits; Hobby $40Credits per message; rate not on the pageFree planCould not read
CrispCredits in a flat planMini $45/mo, ~90 conversationsNo unit price; bundlesFree plan, no AINot stated
hiyFlatFounding $49/mo, 2,000 messagesNone; a monthly pool14-day trial, no cardYes — the passage, on every plan

The arithmetic at three volumes

For the vendors with a published per-unit rate, the agent's cost alone — seat plans, where required, are on top. Freshdesk's 500 free sessions are netted out. The flat plan assumes about three visitor messages per conversation, the same assumption as the cost post, and is marked where it stops fitting.

Monthly conversations the agent handles2001,0005,000
Intercom Fin at $0.99$198$990$4,950
Help Scout at $0.75$150$750$3,750
Tidio Lyro at $0.50$100$500$2,500
Freshdesk, $49 per 100 after 500$0$245$2,205
eesel at $0.40$80$400$2,000
hiy, flat $49 for 2,000 messages$49 (~600 messages)Does not fit: ~3,000 messages is over the cap, and there is no overageDoes not fit

Chatbase and Crisp are not in the table because neither page publishes a per-conversation rate; if Chatbase is one credit per message and a conversation is three messages, 200 conversations sits on the $40 Hobby tier and 1,000 on the $150 Standard one.

The table says what the cost post says with more vendors: the models cross. In the low hundreds a flat plan or a free allowance is hard to beat; in the thousands, a capped flat plan does not exist and the per-unit rate is the whole comparison — and there, eesel's $0.40 and Freshdesk's 49 cents are less than half of Fin.

How to choose, whoever you pick

Run four tests on any of the eight, ours included, before you look at the price.

  1. The receipt test. Ask a question your docs answer, then ask where the answer came from. Can the customer open the source? Only two pages on this list claim that; the rest are silent, which is not the same as no.
  2. The edge test. Ask something your docs do not cover. Does it say so, or improvise in your product's name? An invented refund policy costs more than the agent.
  3. The handoff test. Ask for a person. What reaches your inbox — the whole conversation, or a notification? What a handoff must carry is the checklist.
  4. The exit test. Can you read everything it knows, correct one wrong answer without retraining, and export or delete it all?

Then count last month's conversations and read the arithmetic row that matches.

Not on the list, and why

Zendesk's AI agents bill per resolution too, and zendesk.com describes a "resolution allowance" on each plan without publishing the price of one more — so it is not here, because we could not read a number. Plain sells an agent on a credit pool inside seat plans from $35; a good helpdesk for a product team, but its page prices the seat, not the agent. Neither omission is a judgement.

The honest version

hiy is the cheapest row at two hundred conversations and the only one that does not fit at five thousand. It has no inbox your team works from, no Procedures, no helpdesk integrations, and a 2,000-message ceiling with nothing above it yet; its price is a founding rate because the product is early. Fin's $0.99 buys a decade of helpdesk. If you are a support organisation, Fin, Help Scout, Freshdesk and Zendesk are built for you. If you are a product team with documentation, no support desk, and a few hundred conversations a month, the arithmetic above is the honest reason to look at a flat plan or a free allowance — and the receipt test is the reason to look at ours.

Prices change. Every figure here was read on 18 September 2026, and a vendor's own page outranks this post the day it differs. If we have one wrong, tell us and we will correct it; a correction outranking an older claim is, literally, our product.

Where to start

Count the conversations, pick the row, and run the four tests on two candidates. The fastest way to run them on hiy is the live Support Agent demo, which has the edge case left in on purpose; then create yours on your own docs and run them again.

Questions people ask

What is the cheapest Intercom Fin alternative for a small team?

By published per-unit rate on 18 September 2026: eesel AI at $0.40 per task with no seats or minimum, and Freshdesk’s Freddy AI Agent, which includes 500 sessions a month before charging $49 per 100. Below a few hundred conversations a month, a flat plan — hiy’s Founding Creator at $49 for 2,000 messages — is cheaper than any per-resolution rate, and stops fitting in the thousands.

How does Intercom Fin’s $0.99 per outcome compare to Help Scout’s $0.75 per resolution?

Help Scout is cheaper per unit and its definition is tighter: a resolution is a session resolved without a person, and a session where the customer asks for more help is not billed. Fin counts an outcome when the customer confirms resolution, when they don’t ask for more help after a reply, or when a Procedure completes — so a walk-away after a wrong answer bills the same $0.99. Both sit on seat plans; Fin also sells standalone with a minimum commitment.

Which Fin alternatives show the customer the source of an answer?

Of the pages read, two make the claim: hiy shows the passage behind every grounded answer on every plan, and eesel AI says answers can cite the connected source material. Help Scout, Tidio, Freshdesk and Crisp do not state it on their pricing or product pages, and Chatbase’s docs could not be read — silence is not a no, so ask each one the receipt test.

hiy answers as you, or for your product — with the passage behind every answer, and an honest gap when there isn't one.

Subscribe by RSS